From scratch

Well, I´ve been so long procrastinating this moment that I barely remember when I exactly purchased my brand new sewing machine, but it happened some day last march. Having taken only a two-hour beginner class at Teté´s home), I just sit and looked at my Viking, eyes wide opened during long time, whereas playing around with the manual.  I guess I´m already in love with almost every sewing machine, and like to read reviews and experiences, as well as features in every model. If you are already wondering which one I chose:

vikinga

Mi Vikinga

Ta da!!! a beautiful Viking-Emerald 118! Nice, isn´t it?

With one-step buttonhole, variable stitch width and length , needle up and down and so on. It doesn´t have any decorative stitch, but I can sew jersey and make invisible hems, as well as overcasting and zig zag stitch.

What can I do with this machine?

What can I do with this machine?

I´ve been reading a lot of blogs to get some inspiration, but I could have been doing so forever, as I´m an introvert and perfectionist one. Until the time has come that  I have realized that if I don´t step forward I will never be able to look back and say, oh yes I DID IT.  Blogging is also something I´m going to begin with at this very first post.

My name is Cristina, I´m spanish, but I will blog in english, for the sewing world is much bigger outside our borders🙂. So, please, enjoy any spanglish, feel free to comment (and correct) wathever you feel like- and… let´s have fun!

PS: by the way, how did you begin to sew? was it an “inherited” hability? Which sewing machine did you buy for your begginings?

This entry was posted in English. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to From scratch

  1. sewbusylizzy says:

    I wish you much joy on your sewing journey!

  2. ana5059 says:

    Felicidades! eres una valiente escribiendo en inglés!

  3. I also read sewing blogs for quite awhile before I started and always thought “I wish I could do that”. Well, I finally opened the box and began to figure out how to use the machine I bought many months before, a 25 stitch mechanical Brother.

    Have fun learning the art of sewing, and don’t be afraid to make some mistakes.

  4. Congratulations. It was my first sewing machine I have bought after I moved to the Netherlands. I was having it for 6 years. It was wonderful machine – you will have a lot of pleasure with it. It is simple and it works! Success!

    • cristina says:

      Hello Red Point! I love the machine, it´s wonderful. I think it has all what I need, plus a little extra… The only issue I have is that I don´t know how to oil it, as there´s not such advice in the manual. How did you oil it and which oil did you use?( if you ever did) I want to treat her right🙂

      • I had the same question after I bought it – the dealer answer was – no need – special Husqvarna technology. However it would be good to have yearly maintanance. SUCCESS!🙂

  5. Sanne says:

    Hi Cristina, hope you enjoy your sewing adventures! I first learned to use a sewing machine in school (I was 13 or something like it), then used my mom’s when I needed to fix something or shorten pants and stuff but nothing bigger. My first self-bought sewing machine is a 15 year old, used Necchi Model 559 (I named her Franca, by the way – just to get some totally unnecessary info in this comment). I still have her and still love her!🙂

Leave a Reply

